Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Master-Detail data displayed using LOV (Oracle Forms 10g)
Master-Detail data displayed using LOV [message #496664] Tue, 01 March 2011 18:10 Go to next message
Vachaun22
I'm extremely new to Oracle all together. I'm working through Guide to Oracle 10g book and have run into a problem.

I have a master-detail form set up. I have an LOV set up on to be able to pick a record from the master table, but it doesn't automatically update the details data block.

What should I be looking for to do that? I thought that maybe I could just call the ON-POPULATE-DETAILS trigger, but apparently that can't be done.

Would it be possible to add a trigger to the field on post change to basically execute the same code in ON-POPULATE-DETAILS? That seems kind of odd to do that, but so far that's the only idea I can come up with at this point...

Suggestions as to what I'm missing? Thanks
Re: Master-Detail data displayed using LOV [message #496681 is a reply to message #496664] Tue, 01 March 2011 22:31 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Velcroman
POST_CHANGE triggers are redundant to maintain compatablility with earlier versions of Forms.
I think you need to re-assess the need to select a value through an LOV attached to the master table that will populate the Details table.
Re: Master-Detail data displayed using LOV [message #496697 is a reply to message #496681] Wed, 02 March 2011 00:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
As far as I understood, this might be one way to do that:
- enter query mode in master block
- from LoV, choose a value
- execute query

If master-detail relationship is correctly set (wizard will do that for you, if you used it), both master and detail blocks will be populated with data. Of course, if there are no detail records for chosen master record, detail block will remain empty.

However, if querying is not what you are looking for, what do you do, then? Insert new records? If so: