Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Import CSV directly into FORM 6 and d2kwutil and reading from file (win_api_file.read_file)(merged)
Import CSV directly into FORM 6 and d2kwutil and reading from file (win_api_file.read_file)(merged) [message #296844] Tue, 29 January 2008 04:37 Go to next message
pc131
Hi

I know that this topic in not new, but maybe my case is a bit different than common.

My form has multi-record block (4 columns) in which i want to upload CSV file.

The form will have "Browse..." button to piont CSV file (on local users disc, not where Forms server resides) after pointing the CSV file, user will press UPLOAD button which will import CSV data into block. After that data is visible in block. But whole form must not be refreshed.

I'm studying about UTL_FILE package, but it seems it allows manipulating files on server not local user's machines. Do Forms have such "Browse... -> UPLOAD" possibility or I need to learn Java and create Java funcionality inside Forms?

Or it is impossible to load data directly into form? (I have to use SQLoader and load data into temp table then into block on form????)

Any help will be appreciated.
Tom

[Updated on: Tue, 29 January 2008 06:41]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Import CSV directly into FORM [message #296940 is a reply to message #296844] Tue, 29 January 2008 09:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pc131
Sorry for replying my own topic, but i'm really in need of solution...

Any help form anyone? This is not common situation. I cannot use sqldr because many users will upload files (and i wont have rights to run programs on unix where oracle resides), and sqldr can upload into tables one specified file. Moreover i feel like better solution is to point CSV file using Brows... button, and then import data from CSV straight into form (no sqldr no tables...)

Anyone has idea on this?

[Updated on: Tue, 29 January 2008 09:57]